National Institute of Plant Genome Research
Digital India     
    Professor Akhilesh Kumar Tyagi
    National Institute of Plant Genome Research
    Phone: 011-26742267, 26735169
    Fax: 011-26741759
    Specialization: Plant Genomics and Biotechnology

Professor Akhilesh K. Tyagi, Director, National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi, did Ph.D. in Botany from the University of Delhi in 1983 and worked as a Post-doctoral Fellow in Germany (1984-86). He is among the few Indian plant scientists who have ventured to bring together knowledge of molecular physiology, genomics, and transgenics to study, analyze and improve crop growth and yield. Major research interests of his group relate to stress/reproductive biology, genome analysis and genetic enhancement. He has over 200 publications of high repute/impact. In addition, he is serving on Editorial Boards of Transgenic Research, Molecular Genetics & Genomics, Rice, International Journal of Plant Genomics, Peer J and Journal for Plant Biochemistry & Biotechnology.

At the University of Delhi, Professor Tyagi has served as Founder Director, Interdisciplinary Centre for Plant Genomics (ICPG). He has also been Chair of the Department of Plant Molecular Biology, DU; Board of Research Studies in Interdisciplinary and Applied Sciences, DU; DBT-UGC Task Force on Human Resource Development; DST/SERB PAC on Plant Sciences; and General Secretary, NASI as well as Vice-President, INSA. Further, he played pivotal role in bringing and organizing the 6th Solanaceae Genome Workshop and the International Symposium on Rice Functional Genomics in India. He has been given JC Bose National Fellowship Award, National Bioscience Award, NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award in Biological Sciences, BP Pal Memorial Lecture Award of NASI, Birbal Sahni Medal of IBS, Platinum Jubilee Lecture Award of ISCA, BN Chopra Lecture Award of INSA, BP Pal Memorial Award of ISCA, FC Steward Lecture Award of PTCA(I), Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award for Science & Technology, S.K. Mukherjee Commemoration Lecture Award of ISCA, Professor Shri Ranjan Memorial Lecture Award of NASI and S.K. Sinha Memorial Lecture Award of ISPP. He is Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India, the Indian National Science Academy, the Indian Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences and The World Academy of Sciences.